Weld Symbols

Home Forums General Standards and codes Weld Symbols

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    control-arc
    Spectator

im not a design engineer but it seems strange to just leave 4mm of incomplete penetration, its not really goin to save time or money

i had a look in as 1101.3 “graphic symbols for general engineering – welding & nde”

i found clause 4.2.4 “depth of preparation specified, design throat thickness (DTT) not specified, or specified eleswhere”
    this just shows the symbol and says nothing about size of weld.
    the “specified elsewhere” might be worth checking, the DTT may be written somewhere else on the drawing eg: “all welds to be complete penetration unless noted otherwise” but when  they do this they usually leave preparation size and shape to the  choice of the fabricator.

the usual way to draw a weld symbol for an incomplete penetration butt weld with penetration depth equal to the preparation depth is to just specify the DTT (xx) and desired preparation shape eg: double vee, single vee, etc

for depth of prep different to DTT the symbol requires both size of prep and DTT to be displayed

it could also just be an error on the drawing, it may be worth checking with the client just to be sure.
    i have recently seen a drawing with symbols for a fillet weld in a corner joint with the symbol on the wrong side of the reference line,it was obvious what they wanted but wrong none the less, hope this helps

Flash
    Spectator

Hey TFB
    firstly make sure you know what standard you are working to 1101.3 or ISO2553 as there are differences
    but from your description it sounds like 1101.3
    maybe post an image of the weld symbol and confirm what standard you are working to
    R
    Flash

Ballbearing
    Spectator

The other possibility is that it is intentionally a PJP to get away from having to UT/RT or even having to backgouge.